The first thing she did when they put her on my chest was grab my finger with an impressively strong grip.  She wasn’t crying much at this point (mostly just squeaking), but every little muscle was flexed.

And when they took her to the warmer to get her breathing a bit better (she came out so fast that all of the amniotic fluid hadn’t been squeezed out), she held onto Eddie’s finger.  In her first picture, you can see her tiny fingers turning white from holding on as hard as she did.  The nurse started to put the oxygen mask on her face and she reached up and knocked it out of the way.  She just wanted to go back to sleep.

This is my favorite picture of her.  It was after they gave her back to me and she looked at me for the first time.

I can’t begin to describe how it felt to have the luxury of time after she was born.  It felt strange and right at the same time.

She’ll be three weeks old tomorrow.  I’ve never been so perpetually tired in my life.  She’s a great sleeper, though; she goes down at 11, wakes up from 3-4 to eat, poop, stare, and snuggle, then goes back to sleep until 8.  We’re still exclusively breastfeeding and she is still doing so well at it.  Such a good baby.

At least a few times a day, I’m just in awe that she is here.  I’m in awe of how many things had to fall in line just the right way to eventually lead to the gift that is Paisley.  I’m in awe of how in love I am with her.

It took me at least a dozen “sessions” to get this much down in a blog post (Pais is a happy baby but keeps me busy!), so that’s it for now!  Just sharing some pictures and videos, in no particular order.

