Paisley Loren Santeford has finally arrived!  She was born on (Friday!) July 13th at 2:26 AM, weighing 8 pounds and 7 ounces, measuring 20 inches long.  She is perfect and beautiful.

Labor took much longer than anyone expected and we hit a few snags along the way due to timing issues and because she was still so high.  She didn’t drop until the last minute, but when it was time, she came FAST.  Just two and a half pushes and we got to meet our baby girl.

Image

They needed to get her respiratory system going a bit better, so one of the nurses asked if she could take her to the warming bed for a few minutes.  Eddie kissed me and followed her over to the bed to talk to her and start taking pictures.  They tried a few tricks to get her going (some of which I was less fond of than others), Eddie and I kept looking at each other from across the room and then back to her – sometimes me asking if and him confirming that she was okay, but mostly just smiling.  And after what seemed like an eternity, she was given back to me for skin-to-skin contact.  Finally.

Eddie got to hold her for the first time.  They were getting ready to move us to recovery and I just couldn’t get enough of this view – Paisley and her dad in their own little world.  He gave me a gorgeous locket necklace after she was born.  Sweet hubby.

Image

Since then…she nurses like a pro, is a poop machine, and her fussy moments come and go.  She’s incredibly alert when she’s awake and just wants to look at everything and study our faces. She’d let me sleep more if I could stop staring at her when she’s sleeping.  But I can’t, because I can’t believe she’s ours, I can’t believe how gorgeous she is, and I can’t believe we get to KEEP her!  We’re just totally and completely in love.

We were discharged the next day (Saturday), after every test was normal.  She’s slightly jaundiced but that’s it.

Last night she let me sleep for seven hours!  I had to wake her up in the middle to feed her and she passed right back out.  Then she cried throughout her entire first pediatrician visit… of course…

About to have some dinner, but wanted to update here for those we don’t know personally.  She is here, and beautiful, and healthy.  We are so happy.

Image

Image

Image

Out of nowhere
You came
From a little dust
And a little rain
And when I looked down at
Your face
It showed to me
The truth and grace

I will always try to keep you very safe

So open up your eyes
So they can look in mine
And see a small reflection
And when you close your eyes
I pray the thoughts inside
Are beautiful and true

I won’t always
Be this strong
And I won’t always
Be the one
To kiss the bruise
Or heal the scrapes
To wipe the tear drops
From your face

But I will always love you more each day

So open up your eyes
So they can look in mine
And see a small reflection
And when you close your eyes
I pray the thoughts inside
Are beautiful and true

I will always love you more each day
I will always try to keep you safe

So open up your eyes
So they can look in mine
And see a small reflection
And when you close your eyes
I pray the thoughts inside
Are beautiful and true

I will always
I will always love you

